Plumas county earthquake

Plumas county earthquake DEFAULT

Earthquake: 3.7 quake strikes Plumas County in Sierra Nevada

By By Ken Schwencke

May 25, 2013 at 3:26 PM

This map indicates the approximate location of the epicenter of Saturday morning's quake near Greenville, Calif.

A shallow, magnitude 3.7 earthquake was reported Saturday morning five miles from Greenville, Calif., in Plumas County in the Sierra Nevada, according to the U.S. Geological Survey. The temblor occurred at 11:43 a.m. PDT at a depth of 0 miles.

According to the USGS, the epicenter was 27 miles from Susanville, 36 miles from Magalia, 40 miles from Paradise and 97 miles from Carson City, Nev.

The quake came two days after a magnitude 5.7 temblor struck Plumas County, the largest earthquake in California .

In the past ten days, there have been 26 earthquakes magnitude 3.0 and greater centered nearby.

Sours: https://www.mcall.com/la-me-ln-earthquake-greenville-california-plumas-county-story.html

Earthquake Preparedness

Earthquake Preparedness

On Thursday May 23, 2013, Plumas County experienced a 5.7 magnitude earthquake near Canyon Dam, near the southern end of Lake Almanor. For more information, please click on the links below.

PRESS RELEASES:

May 24, 2013 - Morning Report (PDF)
May 24, 2013 - Evening Report (PDF)
May 25, 2013 - Evening Report (PDF)
May 26, 2013 - Evening Report (PDF)
May 28, 2013 - Evening Report (PDF)
May 31, 2013 - Evening Report (PDF)

Proclamation of Emergency

DAMAGED HOMES INFORMATION:

If you have had any damage to your home, please complete the Plumas Earthquake Survey 2013 (PDF) and return it to Plumas County Office of Emergency Services as soon as possible. It is very important for people who have property damage or property loss to report it. OES will be keeping track of the total loss for the county so that it can be reported to the state.

y ground deformation we notice. A damaged home in West Almanor will be reported to USGS as a possible example. Also, if there are reports of new water sources or springs where there were none before, USGS would be interested in gathering this information as well. Below is information on liquefaction.

LIQUEFACTION -

A process by which water-saturated sediment temporarily loses strength and acts as a fluid, like when you wiggle your toes in the wet sand near the water at the beach. This effect can be caused by earthquake shaking.

Liquefaction Flash Animation

Sand ejected through a crack forming a series of sand boils along the railroad tracks adjacent to Deschutes Parkway in Olympia. (Photo courtesy of Geomatrix)

Link to LA Times article and the USGS earthquake probability forecasts.

Resources: 

Plumas Earthquake Survey 2013 (PDF)
National Weather Service
Caltrans Highway Information
Plumas National Forest Fire Information
Lassen National Forest Fire Information

California Emergency Management Agency
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Norcal Incident Coordination
American Red Cross of Northeastern California

Sours: https://www.plumascounty.us/2134/Earthquake-Preparedness
  1. Outdoor stool cover
  2. Synthol injections
  3. Clip art wreath
  4. Theater classroom posters
  5. Template postcards

Quincy earthquake called unusual for its magnitude

A magnitude 4.5 earthquake in Quincy that awoke Grass Valley and Nevada City residents from sleep early Friday morning is a reminder of the uplift that is constantly shaping the Sierra Nevada.

The medium-sized earthquake ” the biggest to rock the area in more than a decade ” occurred at 4:19 a.m. about 4 miles from the town of Quincy, according to the U.S. Geological Service.

Shortly after a report of the quake was posted on The Union’s Web site, several locals reported feeling lurches, a twisting motion and hearing a slow rumbling that lasted 10 to 30 seconds.



“It sounded horrible and horrific, and it woke everybody up,” said a Plumas County sheriff’s dispatch. Quincy has a population of 2,500 people.

No damage was reported in Quincy, Grass Valley or Nevada City.



More than 250 people from this area, as well as Chico, Susanville, Truckee and Reno, also reported feeling the quake, according to the USGS Web site. They reported the shaking as “light” to “moderate.”

Small earthquakes are not uncommon in the Sierra Nevada range, especially in a band of frequent seismic activity between Lake Tahoe and Mount Lassen.

But one with a magnitude of 4.5 is unusual.

“For the most part, earthquakes are common. It’s a magnitude issue. You don’t get a lot of large earthquakes” such as in the Bay Area or Southern California, said Rick

Wilson, a geologist with the California Geological Survey.

The Quincy earthquake could be an indicator of bigger earthquakes to come.

“There is potential for larger earthquakes,” Wilson said. “It could be relieving stress. It could be building up stress.”

An earthquake of similar magnitude was recorded in 1997 near Quincy, and in 1888, a 5.5-magnitude quake was felt by area residents.

In 2004, a cluster of earthquakes rattled the Mammoth Lakes area. In March 1872, 27 people died at Lone Pine when an earthquake destroyed 59 adobe houses, according to the USGS.

Beneath Lake Tahoe, a group of researchers from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography are studying whether a large, magnitude-7 earthquake could produce tsunami waves 3 to 10 meters high.

“It’s part of the mountain-building process for the Sierra Nevada,” Wilson said.

The eastern side of the mountain range is “shearing” and “being torn apart,” he added.

“It’s a reaction of the rest of the mountains moving,” Wilson said.

To contact Staff Writer Laura Brown, e-mail [email protected] or call 477-4231.

Sours: https://www.theunion.com/news/local-news/quincy-earthquake-called-unusual-for-its-magnitude/
Japan 7.9 Magnitude Earthquake Today - Japan City Earthquake - Earthquake Hits Japan - Earthquake

Look up quakes by region or country

Date and timeMag
DepthNearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMapSunday, October 17, 2021 11:05 GMT (2 earthquakes)Oct 17, 2021 4:05 am (GMT -7) (Oct 17, 2021 11:05 GMT)
139 km (86 mi)4 Km SW of Kingvale, California MoreMapOct 16, 2021 11:22 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 17, 2021 06:22 GMT)

7.7 km109 km (68 mi)13 Km S of Milford, California MoreMapFriday, October 15, 2021 19:54 GMT (4 earthquakes)Oct 15, 2021 12:54 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 19:54 GMT)

9.9 km66 km (41 mi)3 Km ENE of Dayton, Nevada MoreMapOct 15, 2021 8:02 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 15:02 GMT)

16 km93 km (58 mi)16 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada MoreMapOct 15, 2021 2:27 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 09:27 GMT)

3.9 km128 km (80 mi)2 Km NNE of Sierraville, California MoreMapOct 14, 2021 7:29 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 02:29 GMT)

10.4 km100 km (62 mi)8 Km ENE of Cromberg, California MoreMapThursday, October 14, 2021 21:13 GMT (2 earthquakes)Oct 14, 2021 2:13 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 14, 2021 21:13 GMT)

6.1 km121 km (75 mi)28 Km NE of Herlong, California MoreMapOct 14, 2021 5:18 am (GMT -7) (Oct 14, 2021 12:18 GMT)

13 km94 km (58 mi)16 Km NW of Sutcliffe, Nevada MoreMapWednesday, October 13, 2021 20:01 GMT (6 earthquakes)Oct 13, 2021 1:01 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 20:01 GMT)

8.7 km39 km (24 mi)13km WSW of Almanor, CA MoreMapOct 13, 2021 10:57 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 17:57 GMT)

2.7 km66 km (41 mi)10 Km E of Sparks, Nevada MoreMapOct 13, 2021 8:43 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 15:43 GMT)

8.7 km126 km (78 mi)13 Km NW of Sunnyside-Tahoe City, California MoreMapOct 13, 2021 7:24 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 14:24 GMT)

12 km36 km (22 mi)17km N of Shingletown, CA MoreMapOct 13, 2021 3:17 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 10:17 GMT)

7.1 km86 km (53 mi)8 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada MoreMapOct 13, 2021 1:44 am (GMT -7) (Oct 13, 2021 08:44 GMT)

7.1 km127 km (79 mi)1 Km W of Calpine, California MoreMapTuesday, October 12, 2021 04:32 GMT (2 earthquakes)Oct 11, 2021 9:32 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 12, 2021 04:32 GMT)

2.5 km109 km (68 mi)4 Km WSW of Lake Davis, California MoreMapOct 11, 2021 7:12 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 12, 2021 02:12 GMT)

4.8 km110 km (68 mi)28 Km ENE of Herlong, California MoreMapMonday, October 11, 2021 19:59 GMT (3 earthquakes)Oct 11, 2021 12:59 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 11, 2021 19:59 GMT)

4.8 km77 km (48 mi)Colusa County, 25 mi southwest of Chico, Butte County, California, USAMoreMapOct 11, 2021 10:22 am (GMT -7) (Oct 11, 2021 17:22 GMT)

15 km90 km (56 mi)14 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada MoreMapOct 11, 2021 1:40 am (GMT -7) (Oct 11, 2021 08:40 GMT)

12 km119 km (74 mi)7 Km NW of Chilcoot-Vinton, California MoreMap
Sours: https://www.volcanodiscovery.com/

Earthquake plumas county

$1M Damage estimate from Plumas County Earthquake

File (Photo: NICOLAS ASFOURI/AFP/Getty Images)

QUINCY (AP) – Officials in a part of rural northeastern California that was shaken by a magnitude-5.7 earthquake last week are estimating that the temblor caused more than $1 million in damage.

Plumas County Office of Emergency Services Director Jerry Sipe said Tuesday that more than 50 homes in the Lake Almanor basin were damaged during the quake on Thursday night. The basin occupies a rugged region where the Sierra and Cascade mountains meet.

READ MORE: 1 Dead, 5 Hospitalized After Violent Night In Stockton

Sipe says broken and toppled chimneys were the most common type of damage, but that the quake also broke decks, porches and windows. Some homes suffered flooding and water damage, and one was lifted off its foundation.

READ MORE: Coast Guard: 1,200-Foot Ship Dragged California Oil Pipeline

The earthquake also ruptured a tank that supplies residential drinking water, but an advisory instructing customers to boil their drinking water was lifted over the weekend.

MORE NEWS: Sacramento Non-Profit Aims To Help Single Moms During Holidays

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.

Sours: https://sacramento.cbslocal.com/2013/05/28/1m-damage-estimate-from-plumas-county-earthquake/
Japan 7.9 Magnitude Earthquake Today - Japan City Earthquake - Earthquake Hits Japan - Earthquake
References Diller, J.S., 1895, Description of the Lassen Peak sheet, California: U.S. Geological Survey Geologic Atlas Folio GF-15, 4 p.

Jennings, C.W., 1994, Fault activity map of California and adjacent areas, with locations of recent volcanic eruptions: California Division of Mines and Geology Geologic Data Map 6, 92 p., 2 pls., scale 1:750,000.

Kelson, K.I., Hitchcock, C.S., Zeeb, R.B., and Lettis, W.R., 1995, Appendix 2-6—Displacement of late Pleistocene glacial moraines by the Almanor fault, Plumas County, California, in Page, W., ed., Quaternary geology along the boundary between the Modoc Plateau, southern Cascade Mountains, and northern Sierra Nevada: Friends of the Pleistocene, 1995 Pacific Cell Field Trip.

Kelson, K.I., Page, W.D., Unruh, J.R., and Lettis, W.R., 1996, Displacement of late Pleistocene glacial deposits by the Almanor fault near Lassen Peak, Northeastern California: Geological Society of America Abstracts with Programs, v. 28, no. 5, p. 80.

Lydon, P.A., Gay, T.E., Jr., and Jennings, C.W., compilers, 1960, Geologic map of California, Westwood [Susanville] sheet, Olaf P. Jenkins edition: California Department of Conservation, Division of Mines and Geology, 2 sheets, scale 1:250,000.

Wills, C.W., 1990, Faults in the Lake Almanor area, Plumas and Lassen Counties, California: California Division of Mines and Geology Fault Evaluation Report FER-212.
Sours: https://earthquake.usgs.gov/cfusion/qfault/show_report_AB.cfm?fault_id=21§ion_id=

Similar news:

Update:  More small quakes have been reported as of Monday, May 24, with the United States Geological Survey (USGS) announcing a total of 18 earthquakes/micro-quakes between Lake Davis and Portola in the last few days. One Portola resident reported feeling two more earthquakes this morning, Monday.

She described the first on at approximately 8:30 a.m. as a “jolt” and another just before 10:00 a.m. that she said was more of a “rolling earthquake without any sharp hits”. The resident also stated she felt small tremors throughout the weekend. More information can be found here. 

 

The United States Geological Survey announced a 3.1-magnitude earthquake struck near Portola early Sunday morning, May 23, at 2:18 am local time, at a very shallow depth of 1.3 miles below the surface. Then another 2.8 quake registered at 10:20 a.m.

Individuals in the Portola area have reported feeling the events, but no damage has been reported at this time.

Sours: https://www.plumasnews.com/portola-experiences-two-small-earthquakes/


722 723 724 725 726