Tamari nutritional information

Tamari nutritional information DEFAULT
San j tamari 2021

Product Features

Our fermentation process gives San-J Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce great flavor-enhancing properties. Made with 100% soy and no wheat, it has a richer, milder, more complex taste than regular soy sauce. Add Tamari to soups, gravies, sauces and casseroles. Use it as a marinade and in stir-fry dishes or simply dip your seafood, sushi, veggies or appetizers in this flavorful, gluten-free soy sauce.


A Delicious Soy Sauce for All

The secret to San-J Tamari’s renowned taste is its pure soybean content and a higher concentration of soy protein. The taste won’t flash off when it’s heated. We’ve brewed Tamari the same methods for eight family generations, upholding a commitment to use no artificial flavor additives or colors.


There are many dietary benefits of Tamari that accommodate different lifestyles. If you are gluten-free, we invite you to try this soy sauce verified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. Our Tamari also is a certified vegan product by Vegan Action, and so it’s a perfect complement for your plant-based meals. It’s certified kosher by the Orthodox Union and FODMAP friendly as well.


Learn where to buy our gluten-free Tamari Soy Sauce at a store near you with our product locator or buy online today.


Buy OnlineProduct Locator

Nutrition Facts

Serving size

1 Tbsp. (18g)

Amount per serving

The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.

Always refer to package label for most accurate ingredient information.


Water, Soybeans, Salt, Alcohol (to preserve freshness).


This San-J Tamari product contains soy ingredients.

Serving Size

1 Tbsp. (18g)

Servings Per Container

20 per 10 fl oz/UPC # 075810-021255
40 per 20 fl oz/UPC # 075810-021354

Sours: https://san-j.com/product/tamari-gluten-free-soy-sauce/

Soy Sauce (Tamari)

Nutrition Facts

Amount Per Serving




% Daily Values*

Total Fat



Saturated Fat



Trans Fat


Polyunsaturated Fat


Monounsaturated Fat








Total Carbohydrate



Dietary Fiber







Vitamin D











Vitamin A



Vitamin C




of RDI*

(60 calories)

3% of RDI

Calorie Breakdown:


Carbohydrate (35%)


Fat (1%)


Protein (64%)


Nutrition summary:









There are 60 calories in 100 grams of Soy Sauce (Tamari).
Calorie breakdown: 1% fat, 34% carbs, 64% protein.

Other Common Serving Sizes:

Related Types of Soy Sauce:

Related Types of Sauces:

See Also:

Used in these Member Recipes:

Sours: https://www.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/usda/soy-sauce-(tamari)?portionid=61064&portionamount=100.000
  1. Kalimba music sheet
  2. Minecraft clubhouse ideas
  3. Us consulate india

What Is Tamari? All You Need to Know

We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission. Here’s our process.

Tamari, also known as tamari shoyu, is a popular sauce used in Japanese cuisine.

It has gained popularity worldwide for its rich flavor — and because it’s vegan and usually gluten-free.

Yet, you may wonder what tamari is made from and how to best use it.

This article explains everything you need to know about tamari, including how it differs from soy sauce and how you can add it to your dishes.

What is tamari?

Tamari is one of five popular types of Japanese soy sauces known as shoyu. Shoyu is made by fermenting soybeans — and sometimes wheat — using a special fungus (koji) and brine (moromi) (1).

The other types of shoyu are koikuchi, shiro, usukuchi, and sai-shikomi. Each differs based on its fermentation process, thickness, flavor, and wheat content (1, ).

Compared with most soy sauces, tamari is darker, contains little to no wheat, and has a stronger umami flavor (1, ).

Umami is a Japanese term for “pleasant savory taste” and refers to the unique flavor of three amino acids found in plant and animal proteins. Common umami foods include kimchi, seaweed, soy products, and some aged meats and cheeses (4).

Although some varieties contain small amounts of wheat, most tamari is wheat-free, gluten-free, and vegan (1, ).

Other soy sauces typically contain high amounts of wheat, making them unsuitable for people who avoid gluten. Furthermore, they’re usually much lighter in color and sweeter (1, ).

The most popular type of soy sauce in North America is Chinese soy sauce, which is saltier than tamari. Furthermore, it isn’t gluten-free ().

Thus, tamari is your best option for a gluten-free soy sauce.


Tamari is a Japanese soy sauce made by fermenting soybeans and usually gluten-free. Compared with most soy sauces, it’s darker, less salty, and has a strong umami flavor.

How does tamari differ from soy sauce?

Technically, tamari is a type of soy sauce. However, it differs from traditional soy sauce due to its processing.

Traditional soy sauce is made using four main ingredients — soybeans, water, salt, and wheat. These ingredients are fermented for several months using koji and moromi. Finally, the mixture is pressed to extract its liquid ().

In comparison, tamari is usually produced as a byproduct of miso paste, which is made from soybeans, salt, water, koji, and moromi. It also undergoes fermentation, but unlike traditional soy sauce, little to no wheat is added (1).

Traditional soy sauce has a soybean-to-wheat ratio of 1:1, while tamari has little, if any, of this grain. As a result, tamari has a stronger umami taste due to its high soybean content, whereas soy sauce is sweeter as a result of its added wheat ().


Traditional soy sauce is made using a 1:1 ratio of soybeans to wheat. Comparatively, tamari is usually a byproduct of miso paste, which contains mostly soybeans and little to no wheat.

How to use tamari

Tamari is commonly added to stir-fries, soups, sauces, or marinades.

It can also be used as a flavor enhancer for tofu, sushi, dumplings, noodles, and rice. Its mild and less salty taste makes it a good dip.

It can replace any type of soy sauce in most recipes, and its umami flavor lends itself to vegetarian and vegan meals by adding a savory bite usually associated with meat-based dishes.

You can purchase tamari online and in most grocery stores. Be sure to look for a gluten-free label if you avoid gluten — or check the ingredient list to make sure it doesn’t contain wheat.


Tamari is very versatile and can replace most soy sauces. It’s usually used as a dip or added to stir-fries, soups, and sauces.

The bottom line

Tamari is a type of soy sauce that’s usually gluten-free.

Its umami flavor helps enhance many dishes, such as stir-fries, tofu, soups, and rice- or noodle-based meals.

If you’re looking for a gluten-free alternative to soy sauce or simply want to switch things up, give this unique sauce a try.

Just be sure to check the label to make sure your product is gluten-free.

Sours: https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/what-is-tamari
How to Read Nutrition Information → Food Labels EXPLAINED

Soy sauce made from soy (tamari)

Select portion size:
Nutrition Facts
Portion Size18 g
Amount Per Portion11
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 0g0 %
Sodium 1005mg44 %
Total Carbohydrate 1g0 %
   Dietary Fiber 0.1g0 %
   Sugar 0.3g
Protein 1.9g4 %
Vitamin D 0.00mcg0 %
Calcium 3.60mg0 %
Iron 0.43mg2 %
Potassium 38mg1 %
* The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contribute to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.
 Share by URL

Add to comparisonⓘ

Add to mealⓘ

Download spreadsheet (CSV)

Soy sauce made from soy (tamari), calories by source

Soy sauce made from soy (tamari), percentiles

Badges: low fat

Soy sauce made from soy (tamari) nutrition facts and analysis per serving

Vitamin A, RAE0.00 mcg0 %
  Carotene, alpha0.00 mcg
  Carotene, beta0.00 mcg
  Cryptoxanthin, beta0.00 mcg
  Lutein + zeaxanthin0.00 mcg
  Lycopene0.00 mcg
  Retinol0.00 mcg
Thiamin[Vitamin B1]0.011 mg1 %
Riboflavin[Vitamin B2]0.027 mg2 %
Niacin[Vitamin B3]0.711 mg4 %
Pantothenic acid[Vitamin B5]0.068 mg1 %
Vitamin B60.036 mg3 %
Vitamin B12[Cobalamin]0.00 mcg0 %
  Vitamin B12, added 0.00 mcg
Folate, DFE[Vitamin B9]3.24 mcg1 %
  Folate, food 3.24 mcg
  Folic acid 0.00 mcg
Vitamin C[Ascorbic acid]0.0 mg0 %
Vitamin D0.00 mcg0 %
Vitamin E (alpha-tocopherol)0.00 mg0 %
  Vitamin E, added 0.00 mg
  Tocopherol, alpha 0.00 mg
Vitamin K0.0 mcg0 %
Choline6.9 mg

Calcium, Ca3.60 mg0 %
Copper, Cu0.024 mg3 %
Iron, Fe0.43 mg2 %
Magnesium, Mg7.20 mg2 %
Manganese, Mn0.090 mg4 %
Phosphorus, P23.40 mg3 %
Potassium, K38.16 mg1 %
Selenium, Se0.1 mcg0 %
Sodium, Na1005.48 mg44 %
Zinc, Zn0.08 mg1 %

Carbohydrate1.00 g0 %
  Fiber0.1 g0 %
  Sugars0.31 g
  Net carbs0.9 g

Cholesterol0.00 mg0 %

Foods related to soy sauce made from soy (tamari)

Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu)


Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu), low sodium

Soy sauce made from hydrolyzed vegetable protein


Soy sauce, made from hydrolyzed vegetable protein, reduced sodium

Vermicelli, made from soy


Beans, liquid from stewed kidney beans

SILK Vanilla soy yogurt (family size)


Soy protein concentrate, produced by alcohol extraction

Yokan, prepared from adzuki beans and sugar


Soy protein concentrate, produced by acid wash

Soy sauce made from soy (tamari) contains 11 calories per 18 g serving. One serving contains 0 g of fat, 1.9 g of protein and 1 g of carbohydrate. The latter is 0.3 g sugar and 0.1 g of dietary fiber, the rest is complex carbohydrate. Soy sauce made from soy (tamari) contains 0 g of saturated fat and 0 mg of cholesterol per serving. 18 g of Soy sauce made from soy (tamari) contains IU vitamin A, 0.0 mg of vitamin C and 0.00 mcg of vitamin D as well as 0.43 mg of iron, 3.60 mg of calcium and 38 mg of potassium. Soy sauce made from soy (tamari) belong to 'Legumes and Legume Products' food category.
Sours: https://www.nutritionvalue.org/Soy_sauce_made_from_soy_%28tamari%29_nutritional_value.html

Nutritional information tamari


Healthy vegetable salad, Asian flavours-The Tamari sauce will BLOW YOUR MIND! Recipe for diabetics


You will also like:


820 821 822 823 824